Top 3 Wealthiest MPs: Two from Telugu States

Top 3 Wealthiest MPs Two from Telugu States

Two MPs from Telugu States Among Top 3 Wealthiest MPs in Lok Sabha

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, two Members of Parliament (MPs) from the Telugu states are among the top three wealthiest. Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) represents Andhra Pradesh’s Guntur constituency and has assets worth ₹5,705 crore.

An analysis by the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) shows that 93% of the candidates who won in 2024 are millionaires, up from 88% in 2019.

The top 3 wealthiest MPs are:

Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani (TDP) from Guntur, Andhra Pradesh: ₹5,705 crore
Konda Vishweshwar Reddy (BJP) from Chevella, Telangana: ₹4,568 crore
Naveen Jindal (BJP) from Kurukshetra, Haryana: ₹1,241 crore
Out of 543 winning candidates, 504 are millionaires. This number has steadily increased since 2009, when only 315 MPs were millionaires.

Party-wise millionaire MPs:

BJP: 227 out of 240 (95%)
Congress: 92 out of 99 (93%)
DMK: 21 out of 22 (95%)
TMC: 27 out of 29 (93%)
Samajwadi Party: 34 out of 37 (92%)
All winning candidates from the AAP, JDU, and TDP are millionaires. The analysis also indicates that millionaire candidates had a 19.6% chance of winning in 2024, compared to just 0.7% for those with assets less than ₹1 crore.

ALSO READ | Chandrababu Naidu to be Sworn in as Andhra Pradesh CM on June 12

Asset distribution among winning candidates:

42% have assets over ₹10 crore
19% have assets between ₹5 to ₹10 crore
32% have assets between ₹1 to ₹5 crore
Only 1% have assets less than ₹20 lakh

Average assets per winning candidate by party:

TDP: ₹442.26 crore
BJP: ₹50.04 crore
DMK: ₹31.22 crore
Congress: ₹22.93 crore
TMC: ₹17.98 crore
SP: ₹15.24 crore

Despite some MPs having substantial wealth, others have relatively low assets. For example:

Jyotirmay Singh Mahato (BJP) from Purulia, West Bengal: ₹5 lakh
Mitali Bag (TMC) from Arambag, West Bengal: ₹7 lakh
Priya Saroj (SP) from Machhlishahr, Uttar Pradesh: ₹11 lakh
Regarding liabilities, Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani has the highest with ₹1,038 crore, followed by S Jagathratchakan (DMK) with ₹649 crore and Prabhakar Reddy Vemireddy (TDP) with ₹197 crore.

ALSO READ | How to Do Mobile Recharge Easily with WhatsApp